Of white stuff, boxes and bathtubs

Everybun knows that I hate my carrying cage. So, the stage was already set for a thoroughly uncomfortable trip. With that said, the only bad parts were the first day and the last night.

First of all, this was how we traveled:

As you can see, I’m already trying to get out of the cage. I spent the whole trip in my human grandmother’s (who from this point forward shall be known as M-Squared – as in “Mommy’s mommy”) lap. So, we were all uncomfortable. The first day was the worst because 1) I had very little food and 2) mommy had set up my water bottle in the cage and the jostling caused the bottle to leak. I spent the entire trip hungry and wet.

After we got to the first hotel. Mommy and M-Squared (hmmm… now I’m thinking maybe “MM” or just “Ms”) didn’t really know what to do with me. They didn’t want to get my bunny hotel out and set it up only to break it down the next day (hey, I’m not arguing). So, they decided to keep me in the bathroom. It was kinda great, because the bathroom is actually a nice amount of space compared to what I am used to. But, then there was a water problem (they didn’t know how to set up my water bottle). So, they decided that despite the fact that I have only received water via a bottle, they would try to give me a small cup and let me lap it up. I had never done this before, so when they gave me the water, I quickly caught on, and they acted like I was curing cancer or something. “Oh, she’s so smart!” Really, me thirsty, there water, me drink, it’s not rocket science.

But, then I spilled the water, so they decided to keep me in the bathtub. Again, not the greatest, but more room than I usually have. I got really messy really fast.

Pee Rivers

So, after that I got plenty of food during the drive, I stayed dry and I got water when we stopped. All was great until the last hotel (before we arrived here). That hotel made MM (or M-Squared or Ms) sign a thingy that said she would pay $500 if she had an “unregistered pet.” Not if said pet destroyed anything, no, just an unregistered pet. So, mommy and Ms got scared and decided to keep me in the car overnight. That’s right, I had to spend the ENTIRE night in that freaking carrying cage in the car. I mean I had plenty of food and water, but the WHOLE NIGHT in that miserable cage. Needless to say, mommy and M-Squared got nothing but tail for the rest of the day.

Just because I’m cute in the cage does not mean that I should be left in it for that long.

Don't let this cuteness fool you

After I got over the whole staying overnight in the car thing, I was ready for the place with the white stuff. Except, as I’ve explained before, there was no white stuff. I was devistated. I’ve been waiting for white stuff for 4 months, and there is none. Mommy said that white stuff would come, and we should enjoy the warm months before they are gone.

So, right now, mommy and I are staying in one of those “long time” hotels. I don’t know what humans call them. And mommy is looking for a place for both of us to live. She has told me that she still intends to give me my own area. Just to make sure, I’ve seen to it that my bunny hotel has recently started to “leak” some of my pee onto the floor. Gee, I wonder how that happened.

So, that’s how we got here. Mommy starts one of her classes on Monday, and MM has returned to California. Everything is full steam ahead, and now all I need is white stuff.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of white stuff, boxes and bathtubs

  1. Glad you made it safe and sound–sounds like you had quite the adventure!

    Don’t be in too much of a hurry for that “white stuff”–before you know it, you’ll be wishing it was gone. We got WAY too much of it here last year.

  2. The Meezers says:

    OMG. You should DEMAND the mostest expensivest foods in the whole werld for hafing to stay in the car overnight!!!

  3. the bunns says:

    Good trip report. Can’t believe they sold you out for a mere $500. Besides, say you are registered.

  4. Jodi (SixBunnies) says:

    AE: I’m glad you arrived safely. Jamal said he can’t believe you made it there under those conditions… totally not bunny approved traveling! But, your mamma loves you and is taking good care of you, despite how you feel about it. My bunnies will not drink out of a bottle anymore either. I have to put cool water in the bottom of the bowl when I feed them their veggies. Now, there is always a clean bottle of water and a crock of water available, but I never see any of them use either. They always drink the water in with their veggies though, instead. Can’t wait to hear about your permanent place, AE!

  5. Lisa says:

    Sounds terrible but at least it’s over!

    Mommy – Good luck at your first day of class today 🙂
    Also, a piece of advice. Be careful about letting Abigail drink out of a bowl, if you want her to continue to drink out of a bottle. Many a bunny has been known to refuse to drink out of a bottle after having been given a dish to drink out of. Mine won’t touch a bottle anymore and it happens all the time at the shelter. I know it was out of necessity, just thought you should be aware.

    • abigailemily says:

      I’ll discuss it with mommy. But, even if worse comes to worst, I don’t think there would be a problem with me drinking from a bowl inside a cage. But, that WON’T happen because I’ll have my own area.

  6. Carol says:

    Abby, I feel we did bond over the week in such close proximity and I’m missing you big time. Be careful about requesting “white stuff.” It has another meaning and I don’t think you’re that kind of girl. Keep on posting!

Leave a Reply

